2025 IT-540ESi (2025)



Declaration of Estimated Tax for Individuals General Information and Instructions



This document explains the requirements for certain individuals to pay estimated income tax on taxable income that is not subject to withholding, such as income from self-employment, interest, dividends, rents, and other taxable income such as unemployment compensation that the individual do not choose to make voluntary withholding payments. It also provides a worksheet for estimating the amount of estimated income tax to be paid.

Who Must Make Estimated Tax Payments

Louisiana income tax law, La. R.S. 47:116, requires individuals to make estimated income tax payments if the individual's estimated Louisiana income tax after credits and taxes withheld can reasonably be expected to exceed \$1,000 for a single filer or \$2,000 for joint filers.

A married couple should file a joint declaration of estimated income tax unless they file separately using different tax years. If a couple files a joint declaration, but they file their income taxes separately, the estimated tax paid may be treated as the estimated tax of either spouse or may be divided between them in any manner.

Special Rules for Farmers and Fishermen

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:116(B) provides that individuals who earn at least two-thirds of their gross income from farming or fishing are allowed to file only one estimated tax payment of the full amount due on or before January 15 of the succeeding taxable year. In addition, if the farmer or fisherman files their income tax return on or before March 1 of the succeeding year and pays the total tax due, payment of estimated tax is not required.

How to Calculate Your Estimated Tax

Beginning January 1, 2025, the individual income tax is computed at a tax rate of 3 percent. Use the Worksheet on page 2 for calculating your estimated income tax based on your next year's estimated adjusted gross income to determine your Louisiana estimated taxable income.

Estimated Tax Payment Due Dates

The estimated individual income tax may be paid in full with the first declaration or in equal installments as follows:

1st payment	April 15, 2025
2nd payment	June 15, 2025
3rd payment	September 15, 2025
4th payment	January 15, 2026

Note: If a due date for an estimated tax payment falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the payment is due on the next business day.

Fiscal year filers — The estimated tax payment due dates for taxpayers who file on a fiscal basis are as follows:

1st payment15th day of the 4th month of the fiscal year
2nd payment15th day of the 6th month of the fiscal year
3rd payment15th day of the 9th month of the fiscal year
4th payment15th day of the 1st month following the close of the fiscal year

Changes in Income or Exemptions — Amended Declarations

If the taxpayer's expected income or exemptions change so that the taxpayer becomes liable for paying estimated income tax or the estimated income tax amount changes, the estimated tax payments should be calculated or revised using the appropriate worksheet and the payments adjusted as of the next estimated payment due date.

Exception to the January 15th Declaration Requirement

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:116(F) provides an exception from the estimated tax payment amendment requirement or original declaration requirement due January 15th if the taxpayer files their individual income tax return by January 31 and pays the total amount due.

Note: Filing a declaration, amended declaration, or paying the last installment by January 15th or filing an income tax return by January 31st will not relieve you of the underpayment penalty if you failed to pay the estimated income tax that was due earlier in the year.

How to Pay Estimated Tax

Pay by check or money order using the Estimate Tax Payment Voucher.

Estimated tax payments can be paid by check or money order to the Department of Revenue and mailed with Form IT-540ES, Louisiana Estimated Tax Declaration Voucher. The payment must be postmarked on or before the payment's due date. The payment and voucher should be mailed to the Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 91007, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-9007.

Pay Electronically

Paying electronically ensures timely receipt of payments. When you pay electronically, there is no check to write and no voucher to mail. Payments can be made 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and proof of payment will be confirmed electronically.

Electronic payments can be made using the following convenient, safe, and secure electronic payment options:

- For online transfers directly from your checking or savings account at no cost to you, go to www.revenue.louisiana.gov/ latap.
- For payment by credit card, go to www.revenue.louisiana.gov.

It is not necessary to file the estimated payment voucher, Form IT-540ES, if the payment is made electronically.

When a Penalty is Applied

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:118 provides for a 12 percent penalty for underpayment of estimated income tax. The penalty may be imposed if you did not pay enough estimated tax for the year or did not make estimated payments on time or in the required amount. The penalty is imposed on each underpayment for the number of days it was unpaid.

If you owe an underpayment penalty, calculate the penalty amount using Form R-210R, Underpayment of Individual Income Tax Penalty Computation, and the instructions (Form R-210R-i). These forms are available on the Department's website.

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:118(I) authorizes waiver of the underpayment penalty if an application for waiver of the penalty is submitted within one year of tax return's due date. To qualify for a penalty waiver, the taxpayer must demonstrate that they acted in good faith and that the failure to make the proper estimated payments was attributable to extraordinary circumstances beyond the taxpayer's control. To request an underpayment penalty waiver, use Form R-20128, Request for Waiver of Penalties.







Worksheet for Estimating Your 2025 Louisiana Individual Income Tax

Keep for your records. Do not mail. Form IT-540 and instructions for 2024 should be used as a guide.

Estimated Exempt Incom	ne for 2025	2.	00
If your filing status is:		3 the Louisiana dard deduction.	
Single	\$12	2,500	
Married Filing Joint	\$25	5,000	00
Married Filing Separate	\$12	2,500	
Head of Household	\$25	5,000	
Qualifying Survivng Spouse	\$25	5,000 3.	
Your Estimated Louisia	na Taxable Income (Subt	rract Lines 2 and 3 from Line 1.)4.	00
Estimated Louisiana Inc	by .03.) 5.	00	
Less Estimated 2025 To	its6.	00	
Less Estimated 2025 To	7.	00	
Adjusted Louisiana Inco	6 and 7 from Line 5.)	00	
	025 Including Any nearest dollar.)	0.0	
	from 2024 (Round to the	nearest donar.)	00
Credit Carried Forward	•	3.)	00
Credit Carried Forward D. Estimated Income Tax (Subtract Line 9 from Line 8	,	
Credit Carried Forward D. Estimated Income Tax (Street Income Tax) If you first become	Subtract Line 9 from Line 8 liable to Then 6 or before: Pay	3.)	
Credit Carried Forward D. Estimated Income Tax (\$ If you first become file a declaration on	liable to Then e or before: Pay	enter on Line 11 and in "Amount of ment" block on Form IT-540ES:	
Credit Carried Forward D. Estimated Income Tax (Signature Income Tax) If you first become file a declaration on April 15, 2025	Subtract Line 9 from Line 8 liable to Then 6 or before: Pay 1/4 of Lin 1/3 of Lin	anter on Line 11 and in "Amount of ment" block on Form IT-540ES: lie 10 (Make 4 installments)	oc
Credit Carried Forward D. Estimated Income Tax (State of the Company of the Comp	Subtract Line 9 from Line 8 liable to Then 6 Pay 1/4 of Lin 1/3 of Lin 1/2 of Lin	enter on Line 11 and in "Amount of ment" block on Form IT-540ES: lee 10 (Make 4 installments) lee 10 (Make 3 installments)	oc

Amended Computation

Use if estimated tax is substantially changed after the first declaration voucher is filed.

	3.5	
1.	Amended Estimated Tax	00
2.	Less: A. Amount of last year's overpayment carried forward to 2025 estimated tax and applied to date2A.	00
	B. Amount of estimated payments made for 2025	00
	C. Total of Lines 2A and 2B	00
3.	Unpaid Balance (Line 1 less Line 2C)	00
4.	Amount to be paid (Line 3 divided by number of remaining installments) Enter here and in "Amount of Payment" block on declaration voucher, Form IT-540ES4.	00

How to Use the Declaration Voucher

- 1. Fill out the worksheet above to calculate your estimated tax for 2025. You may use your 2024 Form IT-540 and its instructions as a guide.
 - If you prepared a 2024 return on Form IT-540 or Form IT-540B and expect your income in 2025 to be the same as it was for 2024, you may compute your estimated tax using the information from your 2024 return. The figures used should be adjusted for factors that apply to 2025 but did not apply to 2024. Information on how to compute your tax is also available on the Department's web site at www.revenue.louisiana.gov.
- 2. Check your social security number(s), name(s), and address on the voucher. Address changes can be submitted by accessing your account at latap.revenue.louisiana.gov.
- Enter the amount shown on Line 10 of the worksheet in the "Amount of Payment" block on the voucher, Form IT-540ES.
- Detach the voucher at the perforation and attach check or money order.
 Fill in the Record of Estimated Tax Payments schedule at the bottom of this page.
- 5. Insert voucher and payment into the pre-addressed envelope and mail. For each later installment, you need to complete only the "Amount of Payment" block on the voucher, attach payment, and mail. However, if you must amend your estimate, do the following:
 - a. Fill out the Amended Computation Schedule above.
 - b. Complete the "Amount of Payment" block on the voucher.
 - c. Detach at the perforation and mail with the required payment. For each later installment, complete the "Amount of Payment" block on the voucher, attach payment, and mail.
 - d. Additional IT-540ES forms are available on the Department's website.

Record of Estimated Tax Payments

Voucher Number	Date	Amount	Total Amount Paid To Date
1			
2			
3			
4			
Total			